Advice for a College Student Who's Changing Plans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SockRabbit

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

In high school, I often thought about medicine. But I decided it was not for me. I was pretty bored with math and science classes and was much more of a "humanities guy".

I took a gap year after I graduated, and I taught in an underperforming middle school. The work was incredibly demanding, physically, mentally, and emotionally. I absolutely dreaded going to work every morning, but I did anyways. And it was weird because I hated it, and I struggled so hard. But there was something about working in education that drew me in.

Following that year, I did more work in education, and I've put quite a bit of time and effort into exploring a future in teaching. I realized that I was fooling myself this entire time, and that teaching is not for me. I feel a potent sense of dread every single time I walk into class. I struggle to teach effectively, and I've finally come to terms with the fact that teaching is probably not the career for me.

As a psych major, I took the opportunity to take various science classes, like a molecular cell biology class about immunology, physiology...etc... And I've found that I'm really interested in the human body, especially the brain. This made me reconsider medicine. If I want, I can keep my psychology major and take the necessary pre-requisite pre-med classes to be able to apply to medical school after I graduate. However, this would be a pretty big decision, as I would have to fill up every slot not devoted to a psych class to a pre-med class.