Advice for a New Critical Access Hospital Pharmacist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheBlaah

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new grad with no prior work experience in a hospital other than rotations, and soon I will be starting a new job at a critical access hospital (rural 25 beds).

The hospital itself has been expanding alot recently, and as a result the pharmacy has begun implementing a number of new initiatives (antibiotic stewardship, 340b, ect). Being as small as it is, I will likely be involved in these programs as well. I would appreciate if anyone shed light on what to expect or advice on what to prepare for.

Any other advice for a new pharmacist going in would also be great. While I will be trained for a few months, I do want to hit the ground running.

Members don't see this ad.

Though there will be similarities with other hospital jobs, yours will be unique in the sense that you will likely be one of, if not the only rph available at times, so definitely make sure that you get familiar with common IV drip concentrations (your institution will likely have standard ways of making bags, like 4mg levophed in 250ml, etc) and more importantly, what common rates/boluses are.

Really, they should guide you on this, but if you were to focus on a few things it could be: ABX (what covers what, basic kinetics (vanc/AMGs), anti coag (heparin gtts, LMWH/SubQ heparin for PPX and LMWH bridge/tx doses, warfarin, etc), and Critical Care. Get those down and you should have a great start (again, don't need to know it all, but at least make some cheat sheets of common ABX doses (and renally adj), common ICU drips, etc). Also might help to get Lexi comp, etc. on your phone to have access to general drug info in case you are out on the floors and aren't near a reference source/computer.