Advice for a teacher on how to best help his students?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BiomedTeacher

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, first why I posted in this forum: I am looking for advice from professionals who are nearing the end of their schooling/time with this process. I am concerned that advice from the pre-med or med student boards will be rife with myopia/bias on their current place in the process. I am a long-time lurker on these boards (like, for the last decade...) and I seem to lurk on the EM board the most. If this is annoying or uninteresting please skip my post but I really would like some advice from anyone willing to give it.

I am a high school biology teacher. (Wait, dont stop reading yet!) I teach AP Biology and an elective course called Principles of Biomedical Science. Both are senior-level courses taken by students that are all convinced they will become doctors. I have been doing this long enough to know that out of ~150 students/year around two of them will become practicing physicians. However, many of them do start the process and fall out somewhere along the way. My HS is located near a major university with a 6-year BA/MD program (UMKC), so many of them head in that direction and end up not making it.

Every year we take a day out of the curriculum to talk about what this process is really like, from start to finish. I try to talk about what undergrad courses are needed, what the MCAT is really about, how important extracurriculars and shadowing can be. We talk about what med school is really like, pre-clinical vs. clinical years and the match and residency process. I refer them frequently to SDN, telling them how much can be learned by lurking!