Advice for career-changer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greenhorn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I graduated 8 years ago with a BA in studio art... I've run a small farm since then, and am now revisiting the childhood dream of vet school. Am I crazy? What are my chances of successfully getting into a program, assuming I complete necessary prereq courses and get some clinical experience? How uncommon is it for older folks to enter vet programs? (I am 30, I would probably be 32 or 33 by the time I started school.) Is this a disadvantage for my application, or possibly an advantage? Any thoughts from folks in a similar situation would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Am I crazy? No :D

What are my chances of successfully getting into a program, assuming I complete necessary prereq courses and get some clinical experience? It's really hard to say. How was your GPA before? I know studio art isn't close to sci but it is still important that you were a good student then. I've personally known someone who started vet school after she was 30. Just do well in prereqs and make sure to get some experience under your belt. Since you don't have a ton of time to get lots of experience (unless you bust your butt doing school and clinical) make sure to do really well in sci prereqs!

How uncommon is it for older folks to enter vet programs? surprisingly the avg age of applicants is around 24-25 (not right out of college) and there are many older people on this forum who are in vet school now or are applying this cycle. hopefully once i post this and the thread is bumped they will still see it tomorrow because i know they are out there!