Advice for neurotic premeds?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrDre2017

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'm one of those pre-meds who is always doing some type of work. No TV. No leisure (unless you count SDN as leisure), except for the odd funny Youtube video. No reading for pleasure. Not even listening to music, really. At the moment, I'm about to have a breakdown because I have two more weeks of summer with nothing to do. I have trouble relaxing, I guess, because I'm always thinking about how much I have to do to be a competitive pre-med applicant. And even though my perfectionism and compulsion to work serve me well as a student, I'm starting to find it a little disturbing.

I really like being premed, because it keeps me busy, and I'm surrounded by people like me. But I want to learn to be an actual person too, to have hobbies, and the capacity to be creative, and a personality, basically. I know this is funny and / or pathetic, because being a "neurotic premed" is kind of a joke. But I already feel stupid for having had to Google this, and then make a post about it, so I'd appreciate some honest advice. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
Just chill and do things that you like to do in your spare time. Actually read for pleasure. Volunteering and research in your spare time is fun and all but you don't wanna be a bland candidate during interviews do you? I myself am a cinephile so when not focusing on pre med I'm winding down and watching a good movie and then participating in intellectual conversations about said film.

find a hobby. Preferably somethings outdoors and active. You need to find something that you enjoy. For me that was rock climbing and archery.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
From one neurotic premed to another, I'm going to ask that you forgive my language and take the advice my older cousin handed me to me: