Advice for switching from teaching to pre med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GreenDuck12

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all,
I was wondering if anyone on here has made the switch from teaching to going back to school for pre med? If so, any advice on how to do it successfully? Did you choose formal post bacc or informal? Did you take the minimum required classes for admission or extra classes? Is it necessary to take classes beyond the minimum? Did you get involved in research?

I graduated with a BA in Spanish, Philosophy, and Literature from a public university with a 3.7 GPA, honors in Spanish, and Phi Beta Kappa. sGPA was a 3.5 with 3 graded classes. No research experience besides for seminar classes in Spanish and volunteer experience with local schools, food bank. I also designed a mentor program that was adopted by the university for students from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds.

I'm just finishing my second year of teaching in a low-income school district as a math/English as second language teacher and am finishing up a Master of Education degree at a university in New England with a 3.7 GPA.

I'm trying to decide if I should go the formal or informal post bacc route. For informal, I would go a large research university near by and take the pre req classes along with bio chem, genetics, and molecular biology. This route would be two years plus a glide year but less than half the cost of a formal post bacc program (I could most likely pay for it without taking out loans). For formal, I would apply to and hopefully be admitted to Goucher, Bryn Mawr, JHU, and Scripps. The benefit here is that it only takes 12 or 13 months to complete the minimum required classes. I'm not incredibly interested in the schools that these programs link to, with the exception of Pritzker, though I would guess that I would not be a competitive applicant to this school.