Advice Moving Forward

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bwblue

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a Junior Biology major at a small liberal arts college. Up until this year of college, I had been mainly focused on biological research (I've got about 3 years worth of experience in college so far) and moving forward with a PhD in biomedical science. However, I have recently realized that I do not enjoy a lot of the basic science within the biomedical science field--or working long hours in a lab for that matter.

I realized I need some application of the science itself to actually enjoy what I'm doing. So after talking to many people, I was directed toward Public Health and, specifically, Epidemiology. From what I've read, I think I would really enjoy the prevention aspect of Public Health as well as the advocacy for healthy living. I also think it would align well with my interest in Chronic Disease Prevention, Nutrition, and Cancer Biology. That being said, I am a little apprehensive as to whether Epidemiology is a good fit for me. I'm a really strong writer/reader, however I am naturally weaker in math (which I think is reflected in my GRE score). Do you think this would be a problem? Or would there be a better field I'm suited for?

Also, another major concern for me is the cost of the degree of the degree itself. I know a lot of the top schools in the field are $40,000 + a year, which I am not comfortable paying. I do have in state residency in Texas, so I could go to one of the state schools here (UT, Texas A&M). That being said, I do not plan on staying in Texas long term and do not want to significantly limit my career options by choosing a certain school. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Are there any schools that I should seriously consider?

Undergrad GPA:
3.98 (expecting to maintain this GPA this semester)
Major/Minor: Biology/Chemistry