Advice moving forward?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hwiteside

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I am a recent college graduate who is interested in applying to an MD/PhD or MSTP, and would appreciate some advice moving forward.

I graduated last fall with a 3.94 GPA, and the rest of my app (EC/Volunteer/shadowing/etc) was pretty good as well. The only thing I was missing was my MCAT, which I had planned to take after studying over the summer once I got my diploma.

Unfortunately, about a week after I graduated, I got into a major accident that left me in bed for a long period of time. Long story short, after six major surgeries, physical therapy, and almost a year later I am one surgery/two weeks away from being pretty much fully recovered. Right now, I'm finally studying for the MCAT, but I do have a few questions/concerns about what I should be doing to be more competitive.

1) Except for a few projects I did for my classes, I have absolutely zero research experience. I've applied for a few research assistant jobs, and I'd be willing to take 2 years off to get the necessary experience, but is there a better route for me? Should I get a masters degree?

2) What MCAT score should I realistically be aiming for? I think a 33 was the average for the old MCAT, so should I just translate that into a new score?

3) What level of mathematics should I have for the phD? I only took up to calculus 1 in university, and I was wondering if I should take additional classes at a community college or something.

Thank you for all your help!

Members don't see this ad.