Advice needed for older student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wildlifer

LVT hopeful
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I apologize in advance for my novel of a post here. I just figured it would be easier to throw it all together and hope I can get some feed back!

Background, I originally went to UVM for Animal Science/ Pre-vet. However, about my junior year, fall semester, I had a bit of a breaking point where I felt there was no way I was going to make it into vet school. After some many stressful nights and sessions with my advisor, I decided to essentially "drop" the pre-vet concentration and just focus on completing my major while also taking classes I found interesting. I started to take wildlife biology classes the following semester and fell in right at home so to speak but wanted to just graduate and be done school for while. I graduated in 2009 with my first Bachelors in Animal Science.

The next three years I spent working a variety of jobs, from lab animal technician, to avian field technicians, community health care stint, and even a ski bum job (I was young, why not??). Anyway, I kept coming back to the wildlife-field type jobs as I really enjoyed that type of work but felt as though I was lacking in some education, as I only took a handful of wildlife classes my last couple semesters at UVM. With that being said, I decided that I really wanted to go back to school. Fall of 2012 I enrolled full time at Unity College in their Wildlife Biology program and graduated in 2014 with my second Bachelors in Wildlife Biology.

Upon graduation, I was very fortunate to be hired on as a Seasonal Common Loon Biologist through a local non profit that does a lot of wildlife research. Past two summers I have done this work and absolutely love it, but I am finding myself becoming drawn back to the idea of my very original plan from when I was 17 of attending vet school.