Advice needed for post-bacc options – Social psychology!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meg_fsc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

After lurking here and combing through the forum for months, I’ve decided to join up because I’m going to be facing a bit of an educational crossroads soon, and I could use some advice (and you people are amazing).

I’m graduating this fall from UMUC with a BS in Psychology and a 4.0 GPA. GRE scores 157/Q and 166/V with 5.0 AW.

My goal is to get accepted into a decent Social Psychology or IDEP doctoral program (I am not at all interested in clinical), but I have a few barriers that I need to correct before I apply…the question is the best way to go about it.

While I took most (about 80%) of my classes in person, I’m worried that UMUC is considered an “online” degree and won’t look great in an application. Also, while my degree is from UMUC, I have attended two other institutions and had to transfer due to relocation (military spouse…stationed in Germany now…hence the UMUC degree). I’m a bit worried that my transfers would present as a negative. Finally, and most importantly, I have little real research experience to speak of.

I know for certain that I have no chance of getting accepted anywhere right now, so I’ve thought about enrolling as an undergraduate non-degree seeker at a school with a good social psych or IDEP lab (UT Austin) where I can get that undergrad research experience (and work within my interests), and also pick up some valuable classes (both undergrad and graduate, which I can take at UT since I’ll be post-bacc) that weren’t available to me at UMUC. If I did this for…let’s say, 2 years, and worked as an RA during the summer, do you think that will be enough to get accepted into a good Social or IDEP doctoral program (like UT Austin or Arizona State)?