Advice needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Atlgirl

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I have a dilemma /questions, and hoping someone has been in this situation before.

- Are you a non-traditional student who left their well paying job and took a lower paying job so you could get all your prerequisites done? If so, what types of jobs did you apply to? My background is in doing analytical type of work. I just can't find none 9am to 5 pm jobs to apply to.
I have just 2 prerequisite classes left. However the classes are scheduled in the day time hence my reason for looking for a non 9 to 5 job. I have the option of relocating to another state for a well paying job but I'll have to pay out of state tuition for the 2 classes left and possibly delay applying to med school by a year. I recently got laid off hence the option to relocate.

What would you do, find a lower paying job, finish the few classes left, study for the MCAT and apply next year or relocate, take the better paying job and delay med school application by a year or two?

I have current living expenses and cannot go without working although my expenses are not that high. I feel strongly about looking for a job that would have a flexible schedule but have no idea where to start looking. Any ideas? I am in GA.

-

Members don't see this ad.

I'm all for the lower paying job while you complete your prereqs faster. Concentrate on your long term goals.

Many people wait tables etc on their path to becoming a successful physician.

I'm all for the lower paying job while you complete your prereqs faster. Concentrate on your long term goals.

Many people wait tables etc on their path to becoming a successful physician.

Thanks. I guess that's the way to go.