Advice Needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PMEDIC2DOC

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some advice.

I am 28 years old. I am Paramedic and have a BS degree in EMS management. I am looking into going to med school.
Background: I have been a paramedic for almost 10 years. I am married and recently bought a house. In order for me to apply to med school I would have to attend a post bac type program to take the pre reqa (chem, bio, physics).
How feasible is med school at 30-31 years old after post bac?

Members don't see this ad.

After reading this forum for quite some time, I have noticed that there are a decent amount of non trad applicants and that you are capable of attending med school at that age. After I finish my pre-reqs I would be 30-31 as well and it shouldn't be a problem if you are a good candidate.

I need some advice.

I am 28 years old. I am Paramedic and have a BS degree in EMS management. I am looking into going to med school.
Background: I have been a paramedic for almost 10 years. I am married and recently bought a house. In order for me to apply to med school I would have to attend a post bac type program to take the pre reqa (chem, bio, physics).
How feasible is med school at 30-31 years old after post bac?

I'm finishing MS1 and am pushing 40. There are older students than me. Age is not a limiting factor.

Members don't see this ad :)
I guess age isn't a factor for me. I am worried about quitting a decent full time job to go back to school with no guarantee that I will be accepted into med school after my pre reqs. And add the fact that my wife and I would most likely have to sell the house.

Remember, there are SEVERAL dimensions the adcoms will use to determine the outcome of matriculation:
1. MCAT/GPA
2. UG Degree / Additional degrees / academic vigor
3. Extra curricular activities/ volunteer / community service
4. Maturity and life experiences (age helps here)