Advice on direction..Postbac?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

da3mite

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a student at the University of Michigan majoring in psychology. I am about to graduate this weekend and for the last two years, I was on the psych Ph.D. wagon. Recently, I've become interested in a medical future (and less intrigued by the Ph.D.) and unfortunately, I have taken not one pre-med science class, due to my stringent career goals up until this point.

With graduation upon me from Michigan, I will have to either take classes at some other university (Michigan is out of state for me so due to tuition, taking more classes here is probably out of the question..for now), or apply to Postbac programs to put myself right on track. I initially considered the former option because my father lives in the Chicago area and I would be able to live with him/take classes at another esteemed university like the University of Chicago. However, the top universities in that area do not offer the possibility of a second Bachelor's. Thus, I am wondering a few things:

1. Would a top Postbac program (like Columbia) be worth the cost? I have no debt from undergrad but is it worth the large sum for its prestige, guidance, and strong commitment to will me into medical school?

2. If I were to just take classes at a nearby university, does the university I choose for solely taking pre-med courses matter in terms of prestige? Would getting high grades at a top school be different than top grades at a less-prominent school for admittance into med school?

3. What are some other elite Postbac pre-med programs that you know of?

Thank you very much,
Michael

Members don't see this ad.