Advice regarding applying to Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

compliance2014

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Thank you for taking the time to read this post and maybe helping me answer my questions.
I am struggling on deciding if I should apply for med school and if I can really do it or not or if this is just a long shot and very slim chances of getting in at this point.
Some background about me...
I am 31 years old (....old...so hence I am questioning if this is even a possible goal for me to have at this point in time).
My undergrad GPA 2.98, majored in Biology and Psychology (graduated back in 2007). A lot of B's, C's, one D mostly my science courses. I did however get into this short Master's program in Neuroscience. It was mainly composed of my thesis research and I took two courses, GPA 3.87 (graduated in 2012).
I have lots of clinical experience. Worked full time at a dementia clinic as a clinical assistant and a clinical research coordinator, conducting memory tests and obtaining medical histories for about 5-6 years. Also worked heavily on the research side of things. Volunteered at hospitals throughout my undergrad days. Worked for various research groups, dealing with animals, children with autism and other developmental disabilities as a research assistant. Attended various conferences, presented my research findings etc. I have three publications with my name on it, not the main author but 2nd author or 3rd author in all of them. I was so focused on my extra curricular activities (being a research assistant, volunteering, working with kids with autism) during my undergrad that I didn't really have that much time to study.
Now, I am working in oncology, monitoring and auditing clinical research for all departments in oncology, so pediatrics, radiotherapy, central nervous system etc.