Advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sjx324

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated university with a B.A. in Biology and a 3.3 GPA. My first two years were going fine and then my mom unexpectedly died between sophomore and junior year. The summer in between I volunteered at a hospital. Due to stress from my mom's death and the onset of a chronic medical condition, my grades suffered a downward trend. Since I wasn't doing so well my last two years, I didn't have that great relationships with my teachers. I did research for two years but when I graduated the professor and I weren't on the best terms. I now feel like I have no one to write me a letter. I didn't know how it would be viewed if I had letters from teachers who I had years ago. I assume if I apply to a program now, even if I do well on exams I might not have the best chances. I've been thinking about doing some kind of post bacc coursework/program. Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, my condolences I can’t even imagine how hard that must have been for you. That being said, what I did was ask all my science professors via a very sincere email. Even if you do not know them that well, writing recommendations is part of their jobs, and they know that if you did fairly well in their class then you are someone they can feel comfortable recommending. You'd be surprised. Don't let LORs hold you back they are just a formality. As far as Postbacs go I would definitely recommend you do an SMP or something along those lines. Your undergraduate GPA is low but it’s not too bad. If you crush a post back program and the MCAT you'll have a good chance.