USMLE AHHH I'm freaking out

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychobabbling

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I freaked out last night and canceled my exam (scheduled for this upcoming sunday/monday), requested my one extension, awaiting to reschedule. I'm sure my PD will love me, I'm already this incompetent ***** in their eyes.

I feel like how I felt for Step 1, which is not comforting. I passed, but I think that's more because I can take a MCQ test fairly well.

For example - U World - I've been doing a mix of random, subject specific, timed, untimed tutor, etc. Avg 60%. Have NOT reviewed Peds or OB in any way, shape or form.

UW Cases:
This is where my ability to do MCQ falls apart. I find myself staring at the screen or not even being able to think. It's too much of a grab bag. Some cases I can handle moderately well. Others I have no idea. I'm a PGY 3 psych resident, and that medicine stuff is really hard to pull back to being second nature (slowly coming back the more questions I do).

If the whole exam was MCQ, I would just take it. My memory is triggered enough in MCQs that even if I have no idea, I can read a question fairly well to at least make an educated guess. I just don't know enough for "it's Rheumatoid Arthritis, work it up."

----
Any tips on how to get better with this. I think I need to review MTB more, I've only done what I've done once.

Members don't see this ad.

Don't skimp on biostats, as at least 5-6 questions per section for me included biostats questions. Fair amount of ethics. MTB has absolutely NO biostats, which annoys the hell out of me. Also don't skimp on the OB or peds, as there's a fair amount of it (though not nearly as much as the medicine).

Since you're so far removed from medicine, I definitely recommend practicing as much CCS as possible, as that's likely to be your weakest section (no disrespect intended :) ).

Reactions: 1 user