Always planned on med school...now thinking of vet school...can I apply to both?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cjobson

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a junior with a major in biochemistry, and a minor in sociology.
As a kid I always wanted to be a vet, but started leaning more towards med school throughout high school and up until now through college. Currently, I'm a volunteer EMT, and am the substitute health director for a kid's camp over the summer.
However, I've been becoming more and more interested in vet school. I'm practically standing at a crossroads now. Do I start volunteer work at an animal hospital now just in case? (Don't know how I'll have the time but i guess I should figure that out). I know that you need a letter of recommendation from a vet that you did clinical work with (if I understand that correctly).

Even though I'm a junior, I'm planning to stay at least an extra semester. Have yet to take biochemistry, which I'm taking this fall, so I'll take the MCAT earliest at the end of this year if I can. I see that Cornell Vet DOES take the MCAT, so I don't think I have to worry about taking the GRE ontop of that....ugh.

Anyone have experience applying to both?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think I've ever heard of anyone applying to both at the same time. It would probably be a red flag to both sets of adcoms that you didn't know for sure that you wanted to be a doctor/vet. You need to make a decision here.

What is your thinking process that led to you deciding now that you want to be a vet? Do you know about the field? Beyond the wonderful parts, do you know about the debt:income ratio, the compassion fatigue, or the burnout? Most schools expect you to know about the ups and downs of the field when you apply.