Am I done for-DACA student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LongshotStudent

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, this will be my first post. I am a sophomore attending Rhodes College. I am a neuroscience major with a minor in chem. My c.gpa is a 2.99 with a s.gpa of 3.1. (this is for 3 semesters)/(I did horrible in Calc-1). These are the classes I am currently taking,with the current grades as of now (still have a few more grades for each so I can still pull everything up)
Orgo-1, A
Molecular/Cellular Neuroscience, B
Cogn. Neuroscience-B
Perception-B
Wind ensemble-A
*Note that so far for my pre-Req classes, I have not gotten anything below a B, its just that calc-1 and humanities grades that have been nailing me.

EC-As of now
1 semester of Research in Vision(will continue in Summer and Fall and hopefully spring)
Member of a fraternity(held position of secretary and philanthropy chair)
Member of the Wind Ensemble(been playing for 10 years)
Rowing/Crew for a year
Internship at a clinic over the summer that can continue in the fall(with direct patient contact)
Volunteered at a soup kitchen for 40 hours freshman year(haven't been able to do that sophomore year though I have plans to continue in this summer through the fall)

Finally some extras.
I am bilingual (English and Spanish)-there is a possibility of getting a Medical Translation Certification in the fall.
I am URM (Mexican)
I have DACA status.

I was hoping for feedback from y'all as to whether I have a snowball's chance in hell into getting into MD/DO school in the US and what I should add to increase my chances(please be realistic if possible)

Thank You for Your Time-LongshotStudent.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think a first step would be to attempt to secure permanent resident status.

Members don't see this ad :)
This is often (always) beyond the control of the applicant.