Am I hopeless?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jharris14

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated highschool in 2013 and had no clue what I wanted to do with my life. I enrolled in classes at my local community college for general studies for associates in science and took general chemistry but was not prepared for it and had to withdraw from it. The following semester I was lost and still clueless what to do and took more basic classes like English, history, etc.. Also biology but for non science majors. Fall 2014 I decided to hop back in general chemistry and see how I fare and it went very well in lecture.. Had a B, but.. Carelessly, I was a horrible student and rarely went to lab and made a D in the class. Now, presently I really believe I want to pursue dentistry but with all that mess on my transcript with gem chem 1 and my carelessness, I can't imagine how awful that would look. The thing about me is when I put my mind to something I can achieve it. So, now that dentistry is the goal, I know I could put in the work and get all the pre reqs done, but I wonder how if it's too late since all that happened and that if it'll look too bad in the future. I'm transferring to a university this coming fall planning on strong in gem chem and cellular and molecular bio and all that. I'm just wondering now if it's too late and I've slaughtered my chances with carelessness, or if I can put in the work and still succeed with my goals.
Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Not at all, I know many people who get into dental schools even though they screwed up their first year. Plus labs are only what, 1 credit? that's not going to hurt you at all. just keep continuing on with your courses and make sure you do well in the rest to come. I know friends who got a couple C's in his early years of undergrad, applied and got to their top choice schools. You'll be fine.