Am I match worthy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bbg1951

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need to know where, and if, my app can be improved to the point of being able to garner a residency. I applied to IM and FM this past MATCH and got 2 interviews without any contact with the programs, and then 5 more late in the season after calling and saying I can fill slots last minute. I'm wondering if I should do more research or perhaps take a para clinical job like anasthesia tech or scribe to stay clinical? Can my app be improved to be match worthy or is it a lost cause?

I'm a US IMG and am ECFMG certified.

I graduated in Dec. 2011 with about 2 yrs extra time taken as both my parents lost their jobs during my 1st year in med school and I had to start working full time in addition to completing med school in India. Working full time lead to attendance problems causing me to not be eligible to take exams for certain courses. Also, I did 2 months worth of US clerkships.

step 1 - 222, 1st attempt
step 2 ck- 227 2nd attempt ( 196 1st attempt, 203 was passing then)
step 2 cs: pass, 1st attempt

6 months research at Georgia Institute of Technology in conjunction with the Sickle Cell Foundation of Georgia- no paper published - 1 good LOR from a PHD at the foundation.............................................................................................. (march - aug 2014)
6 months experience running clinic in India..........................................................................(Dec 2011- June 2012)
1 month clerkship in ER of major Atlanta hospital with great LOR .......................................(aug 2011)
1 month clerkship in FM with a waived to see LOR (pretty sure its decent/great) ................(aug 2010)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
The name of the school is the Georgia Institute of Technology.