Am I screwed??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Thebigpig

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm 30, BS in IDS with cognates in psych and religion gpa 3.0 from Liberty University Online
No real science courses to speak of - they are 10 years old.
I've been working on my bachelors off and on since 2011.
Life happened......
Would I do better to get another BS from an actual university that's worth something or do a DIY post bacc?
I need all my sciences.
In my AA I have lots of Ws and and a few Fs with retakes that were Cs
I'm no longer in the unsafe situation I was in back then but I'm afraid the damage has been done to get into MD school.
My husband is 5 years from retiring from the military - so my goal is to be applying for 2020.
I have medical experience but I've been out of the field and a sahm for the last 5 years.
I have no ECs to speak of unless they want to hear about my mommy play groups and breastfeeding peer counseling
I'm considering phlebotomy for experience and working on shadowing.
I'm capable of the marathon....I'm just nervous I'm having delusions of grandeur.
Thanks for the advice!

Members don't see this ad.

@Goro would known better than I, but I would think that a purely online BS might be a issue. Although if you take all your pre reqs in person that might change things? Not really sure in this case but I do know that from here on out there need to work on making a 4.0 the whole way through your post bac work in order to bring the GPA up as much as you can.

You need to take some science courses with labs and see how you do. Don't need another bachelor's - just the pre-req's in a DIY post-bacc. DO schools will look at you as long as your overall application is good. Get some current medical shadowing. See what the life is like. All is not lost. Your story is not unique.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)