Am I too late to apply for Canadian/US Medical schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

myst

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I originally thought I had no chance of getting into a med school in north america. My GPA is about 3.1. But luckily I had a good MCAT, 34 (13/13/8 in verbal). Im 20 years old and think I may have a shot.. or maybe im delusional :p. My extracurriculars are nothing special and neither are my LORs, but all I need is to get into one school :laugh:

Am I too late to apply for Canadian/US Medical schools? Do you guys think I have a chance of getting in?

I should note that I am a Canadian attending the U of A.

Members don't see this ad.

going to be tough with a 3.1 gpa I think and while a 34 is good having an 8 on one section on top of that makes it really hard imo. However I'm no expert so maybe it is possible but yes it is def late.

Too late for almost all Canadian schools. I know McGill's deadline (& UAlberta's I think) are November 15th. The deadlines for all the others that I applied to are in the past. Sorry.

Members don't see this ad :)
yoru best strategy is to work on boostig that gpa up to 3.4-3.5-3.6 if possible, and working on doing better in verbal in the next year. If you really want to get into an americna med. school, you're probably better off doing a post-bacc at some american university. If yo really want to go into a canadian school, i'd say stick in canada.