An Engineer's DAT Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JMYilla

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post, but I read a lot on this forum while I was preparing for the DAT, so I thought I would contribute if that is helpful. I'm an engineering major with a high GPA who decided to do dentistry halfway through undergrad. Here are my scores:

Bio 20
GC 21
OC 21
QR 30
RC 27
AA 24
PAT 24

My scores seem to be a little different than a lot of the ones posted here because of my high QR and RC. It seems like most of the 24+ AA posts on here have TS scores that are 25+. I suppose that this is the nature of me being an engineer that has always excelled at math and someone who loves reading for fun.

Breakdown:
I graduated May 3rd and scheduled the exam for May 29th. I was taking 20 credits my final semester so I didn't study at all prior to May, but I was taking biochem, anatomy, and OChem II, so I counted that as preparation. I studied part-time with a lot of distractions for the first two weeks after graduation, and 7-10 hours a day for the week prior to the DAT. I have always tested well, so that was in my favor.

I really don't have much money to spend on studying materials, so I did everything as cheaply as possible. I got a used Kaplan DAT guide from a friend that took the DAT last year, used Feralis Bio notes online, and only took free practice tests except for the 2009 ADA test ($39 online I think).