anesthesiologist unfairly given peds anesthesia certificate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

angry doc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am looking to resolve a dilemma. I am a fellowship trained peds anesthesiologist. I graduated recently from residency and then went to do a fellowship. At that hospital I am at now is an anesthesiologist who finished residency same time as me and went to work while i went to do a fellowship.

This person applied I feel falsely for peds board certification via grandfather criteria. Although the ABA looked at the logs, I have a feeling only pediatric anesthesiology logs were shown..
the adult logs were not shown or minimally shown to deceive the ABA. The hospital i am talking about is not a children's hospital but an adult hospital..it is level 1 adult and not even a level 2 peds trauma center. Most peds cases are bread butter asa 1 and 2. The Nicu cases are erratic..few and far between...
all the nicu babies come intubated already by neonatologists and ivs and arterial lines placed by neonatologists In advance. ..

Here is the real problem...the ABA requires that a person do primarily pediatric anesthesiology in the past 2 years at time of application and persons have exposure to neonates and do high risk procedures. ...I was the peds fellowship trained person there and I did not even do primarily peds there....I did a mixture of peds and adult....like 70 to 30.. I did most of the Nicu cases.....although the babies, because of hospital practice, came already intubated with lines, etc.

so what I don't understand is how does this other person who is doing majority adult cases and not peds cases..as required by ABA grandfathering criteria, even after logs examination, get to sit for the exam and is now peds anes certified.