Another question about emailing PDs...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Karine04

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's the situation: I am a fairly decent DO student (middling grades, very good clinical evals, eh on board scores, excellent LORs (was told on an interview)), applying to only allopathic programs in OB/GYN. I applied to 30 programs and have been offered 9 interviews so far (although I will cancel one due to issues with the program). I'm getting nervous that this simply isn't enough. I applied to several DO-friendly programs, a few of which I haven't heard from yet. Would it be reasonable to email the PDs and inquire about the status of my application? Would it be more prudent to email the residency coordinator/secretary?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You can e-mail them if you wish, it may or may not help. I'd jsut sit back.

OB/GYN isn't a terribly competative field. You have 9 interviews, that's a lot. Have you received any rejections yet?

along those same lines, i am applying for internalmed (obvious i guess haha)......I haven't heard from a few programs, but there is one that is at the moment my top choice out of where i have applied. I think I am a borderline candidate--just based on previous years I feel like I can swing either way in regards to whether or not I get an interview. I was told by a fellow to email the program. Should I email the PD or the coordinator? Also, not sure exactly what to say......how do I tactfully ask for an interview or ask what the status is? Thanks! Clearly I am very clueless.