Any Advice On Where To Apply With These Stats

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AngelBear

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

This is such a helpful forum and Congrats to everyone who got in this year ! Hopefully some of that would rub off on me for this application round.

I would really appreciate any help on where to apply. I graduated from UC Davis and applied back in 2002 to 35 schools and did not get any interviews. I think this was due to my poor GPA. I had great community service and research having done 6 years of research with UCD, Stanford and UCSF combined. I also co-founded a free clinic for the homeless, which is the main community service activity I highlighted on top of other things.

I went back and did a post bac and took a bunch of advanced science classes and here are my new stats.

Under Cumm GPA: 2.86
Undergrad BCPM GPA 2.59
Post-bac GPA: 4.00
MCAT: 28P

Any suggestions on which schools to apply ???

Members don't see this ad.

AUC? Ross? Maybe SGU? If you have some experience in the DO world you certainly want to take a crack there. It's not looking good in the allopathic scheme of things though.

I'll be honest... I don't think you're going to have much luck with MD schools. Your undergrad GPA is what's keeping you down, despite the upward trend in your post-bac work. You may want to try some "lower tier" schools for a shot. Pick up a MSAR book and rifle through it.

Your really should consider some DO schools as well. You'll get an excellent education, still have great residencies to chose from, and will have a better shot at getting into some of those schools.

Best of luck to you in the future!!!

Members don't see this ad :)