Any current or a prospective student in Florida??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

colljlo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I wanted to see if anyone on here can give advice on MOT schools in Florida. I've been doing some research about the schools and reading all of posts on this forum, which I find to be very helpful.

I'm a UNF Alumni with a B.S. in Public Health. I'm 30 yrs old and currently working a full-time job. I've been out of school for awhile and the thought of going back to school is a little scary. I want to make sure I "get all of my ducks in a row" before going back. Since it's been awhile since I graduated I wanted to re-take my pre-reqs to have a better chance of getting in. From reading the posts I also see that I need more than the required 50-80 hrs of observation in different rehab settings.
I would like advice on:
What Florida schools you would recommend?
The different rehab settings I should look into for observation hours.
Any specific order to take pre-req's in.
How much do you think just the MOT program would cost?
Studying for the GRE - is it better to pay for a class or get a bunch of different books
Can I work part-time and go to school?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in my 30's and have spent the past 2 years slowly taking the pre-reqs while working full time. It had been 7 years since I finished my masters when I started back at a community college. I'm applying this year and haven't done any observation hours, so will be cramming those in soon.

For your first class back, try to take something you might find easy. I wouldn't recommend A&P right away.

On studying for the GRE, it depends on how much time and money you have. Also how well you would do without any preparation. And if you learn better from classes or are a fast reader like me and do well with books.