Any financially independent premeds living away from home ? Advice please.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anatomicaI

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Are there any premeds here who are financially independent and living away from family? I need some advice.

Firstly, I'm an undergrad senior (graduating next year. Only need 3 more credits to graduate) who is planning to take the MCAT in March apply for the 2018 cycle. I'm done with all my prereqs and I just have to take the MCAT and increase my extracurrics and medical experience.

I am 23 and financially dependent and still live with my parents.I'm having a mental difficulty because of the home environment I am in. It's very emotionally tiring living with them because they are emotionally abusive and controlling (sometimes they are physically hurtful). I didn't grow up in a peaceful family environment.

I had enough of it... I endured too long.

It's affecting me so much that I cannot study for the MCAT. Thought of how I have to live for another two years until medschool is making me feel so suffocated. Also, I don't feel positive about being accepted for the 2018 because MCAT is in four months and I have barely studied.

Should I prepare to be financially independent of my parents to leave home and just push my cycle? I'm only taking one course (8 hours/ week) and doing 10 hours/week of researching (total of about 20 hours), I think I should get a job, save up to leave. After I leave, then what?

Is there anybody here who went through the similar situation?
If you're a financially independent premed, would you please give me some advice? Is it possible to still be independent, living by yourself and be a premed. How are you balancing full time work and premed work?

Members don't see this ad.

I think at least 80% of people in the nontrad forum are financially independent. Many also have spouses and kids.