Any medical technologist out there

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gls5377

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am new to this forum and would first just like to say hello to everyone. Also, I have been out of college a couple years and started a career in medical technology but am unsatisifed. Anyway, I have decieded to pursue my medical interest and am applying to medical school. I was wondering if there are any former medical technologist out there that have applied to medical school and what kind of feedback (positive or negative) did medical schools give you regarding the field?

Members don't see this ad.

hey gls im an MT student myself and i know how you feel. med teching is cool and all but it really isnt that rewarding. ive had a couple of med tech friends that have gotten interviews because of there experience. but also a an adcom member for utsw med school told me that med techs dont get enough patient interaction and that that could be a negative. but an adcom memter at tcom told me that it was better than nothing. thats true, we gotta have more experience that the average 3.8 gpa and 35 mcat applicant, our expeiecne has to count for something. anyway i will send out my texas app in about a month and will be more than happy to post how everything goes. heck the lab accounts for almost 80% of all diagnosis. docs depend on us for alot of things. surely adcoms must know this, its gotta count for something. good luck.

hi
am an MT 3rd grade student
i am enjoing studing its subjects - specially genetics -
i well graduate and then enter the medical field

Members don't see this ad :)
MT Reem said:
hi
am an MT 3rd grade student
i am enjoing studing its subjects - specially genetics -
i well graduate and then enter the medical field