Any non-CT fellowship private guys do heart cases regularly?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ignatius J

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
If so, any advice, stories, 'what to dos', 'what not to dos', for a first year guy right out of residency is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not in private practice, but also not in academics (govt job). I graduated from residency this past summer, am not CT-fellowship trained, and I do hearts about once a week.

If cardiac is going to be part of your expected case load at your new practice, then figure out how things are done when you first get there. I did hearts at three different hospital systems as a resident, and each had different criteria for who got SLICs vs PACs vs SvO2 PACs, different preferred pressor/inotrope combinations, ways to put in lines, etc. When I came here, I approached it as just another new rotation, where you have to learn the way that they like to do things, and be sure that you do them exactly that way, until the surgeons and other anesthesiologists are comfortable enough with you that you can start to modify techniques and patterns.

Don't be afraid to call for help if something isn't quite right. As a new attending, you are going to make some mistakes when you are first working on your own, even if you were a hot-shot senior resident that didn't need help from staff.

Don't be afraid to speak up. I've noted findings driving the echo that the Cardiologist undercalled, and the surgeons were not anticipating.

Stay calm. Surgeons and perfusionists smell fear.