Any thoughts/advice on attending a foreign Vet School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

landis792

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
(Please bear with me, I acknowledge that I have asked a similar question before) I'm considering attending Massey University in New Zealand next year and competing for a position to get accepted into vet school as a foreign student. I'm an older non-traditional student who is just finishing a MS degree in Biology. I applied to Davis (my in-state school) for two application cycles, also once at AVC, Murdoch and Massey. I get it that I am uncompetitive, however, I have also gotten some pretty negative feedback about alternatives such as the Caribbean schools and Western U from some vets at an ER clinic I volunteer for, as well as, from several vets at my job. I accept that I may have placed too much weight on some opinions, but I am concerned about my ability to obtain a job after graduation. I welcome anyone's advice and I am open to contrary opinions. Thank you in advance for responding. My intention is to ask an honest question not to offend you if you have chosen to attend vet school in the Caribbean or at Western U.

Members don't see this ad.

There is a great deal of discussion re: Caribbean schools in this forum and I encourage you to read those threads.

The bottom line is, it will not affect your chance at getting a job. There are certainly people out there that look down on those who graduate from Caribbean schools but they are dwindling as the schools have become accredited and graduates have proven to be just as good as graduates from other US schools.