Anybody have any ER shadow stories?

prepremed18079

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have an ERshadow coming up and I am not sure what to expect any stories or advice would be greatly appreciated?

Members don't see this ad.

The main advice I have is that if you see something that makes you feel dizzy, walk away and sit down. Don't just keep standing there and faint.

It will probably mostly be very minor injuries and people feeling nauseated, unless you're shadowing at a trauma center.

The main advice I have is that if you see something that makes you feel dizzy, walk away and sit down. Don't just keep standing there and faint.

It will probably mostly be very minor injuries and people feeling nauseated, unless you're shadowing at a trauma center.

The hospital I am shadowing at is a level one trauma center...

I'm a senior Emergency Medicine resident at a inner city level one trauma center. To tell the truth it will depend on the day, the time of day, the weather and just blind luck what you see. If you're shadowing at a place like where I work (which it sound's like you probably are) walk into the trauma bays when something rolls in there or any other room you see a lot of commotion around. Stay out of the doctor's and nurse's ways, but those situations are usually where the cool stuff happens. We get pretty crazy days here with lots of big procedures, codes ect. But sometimes the opposite happens for example most Saturday nights we get at least two GSWs and bunch of other traumas. but for example I worked last Saturday night and it was dead, literally nothing that got my heart rate above 60. So no promises you will see something cool but hope for it.