AP classes

AE3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm an incoming sophomore this year and i would like to know which AP classes are necessary for preparing for a pre med major in college. As a sophomore the only AP class available is AP us history, which i am taking. Is it really necessary to take as many AP maths and sciences?

Members don't see this ad.

i'm an incoming sophomore this year and i would like to know which AP classes are necessary for preparing for a pre med major in college. As a sophomore the only AP class available is AP us history, which i am taking. Is it really necessary to take as many AP maths and sciences?

Take Calc AB, Calc BC and every AP science class you can.

Just on a basis of what science AP classes strictly were actually useful to me in the long run in terms of learning medicine:
1) AP Biology
2) AP Chemistry (moreso for MCAT, a bit for learning Biochem)
3) AP Physics (not because you actually need to know more than basic physics once you're in medical school and beyond but because the MCAT tests this)
4) AP Psychology (not needed in undergrad, but good for med school)

Of course you should still take other AP classes if possible too because colleges like to see that you can handle a challenging curriculum. Also, pre-med is not a major. Pre-meds can be anything from Biology to English or even music majors; you just have to take the classes medical schools require. Plus you never know if you might change your mind later, so definitely explore all your interests and all types of classes in high school.

To answer your question about whether it is absolutely necessary to take a bunch of AP math and science classes in high school, the answer is no. They definitely help, and will be useful in building up a good foundation for science knowledge, but it's not necessary that you go crazy with taking these classes at this point of your life if there are other classes you would rather take.

Members don't see this ad :)