AP Human Geography vs AP Euro

NorthwesternHPME

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going to be a sophomore this year and was wondering from those who have taken the MCAT and are far along the road to receiving an MD whether I should be taking a sociology/anthropology class (AP HUMAN GEO) or a history class (AP Euro).

I was wondering which one would help me more on

A. THE MCAT
B. UNDERGRAD AND MED SCHOOL

THANKS

Members don't see this ad.

Lol. Tbh, you'll probably forget the material before you even apply to college. Take whatever you are interested in because I can guarantee you that no high school class will help on the MCAT or in med school.

My 2 cents

Members don't see this ad :)
Yep. I took AP Psych sophomore year thinking it'll help me in college and when I am studying for the MCAT, guess what... I don't remember ****. IMO, these AP and honors classes will just teach you how to be responsible, study habits and things like that.

Don't get caught up revolving your life around the MCAT and Med school, those are not the only things that should be in your life. Yeah they are important but make sure you do what YOU will enjoy.

Reactions: 1 user
Hahahha! The best thing you can do in high school is take classes which challenge you to think critically. The grades you get don't matter. Dont waste any time with memorization based classes like AP Psych

I actually took AP World in high school and got a 4 on the exam, which took care of like a humanities and ethnic studies at the same time or something (definitely took care of two classes which I did not want to take in college). I'd highly recommend doing that if you can. AP Euro might take care of a humanities and ethnic studies too if you do well enough, I'm not sure, that'd be something to look in to. You'd have to look at where you want to go to college and see what AP scores count for what classes.

I did take AP Human Geo and hated the class btw.