Applied this cycle, did not make it ! looking for advice !

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MAdental

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I am an international student ( Canadian). My application was sent out by AADSAS on july 29th 2011 and I still have not had a single interview. To be honest with you, i am not waiting for an interview anymore cause i know it is too late for me to get one. So i moved on and accepted that fact, however I have been thinking for a while and have decided to improve my application for the future cycles. I have listed my info below ( those are the number I applied with after 3 years of school)

Major: Honors Biochemistry
GPA: Overall 3.40
GPA: Science 3.42
DAT: 19/19/19
300+ hours of volunteering/leadership ( 3 different positions on and off campus)
100+ shadowing
P/F time job during 3 years of undergrad (1400 hours)

Since then I have managed a 3.7 in my 4th year and my GPA over my last 20 courses is around 3.7 as well. The volunteering hours are now around 400 hours which i think and was told ( by Dean of Indiana dent school) shows minor involvement .
So i have decided to do a masters to 1- get a new GPA 2- increase my volunteering hours 3- get top notch reference letters 4- have a second degree.

WIth my 4th year included, my GPA is around 3.5 now.

But the problem is I dont know whether i should do a Course based MS or a Thesis based one. Here in Canada, over 95% of MSc are Thesis based and ppl usually dont give much credit to people with a course based master. In my province , there is only one type of course based masters offered (Biomedical sciences ) and that's it.

I already have 3 offers for MSc from 3 professors and with my GPA I can land a 20 K scholarship each year. ( this will take 20-25 months to complete)