Applying late for my stats?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tcushman9

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
GPA: 3.45
BCPM: 3.35
MCAT: 30

2 years research experience, School of life sciences apprentice program, chemistry tutor, 1 year shadowing in rehab facility, 1 year shadowing in PACU, member of several finance clubs (what a finance major freshmen year), volunteer work conducting science experiments for 7th/8th graders, part time coach of a youth hockey team

All things considered, is it pretty late to apply with a lower GPA and average MCAT? I'm an Arizona resident so there are really only 2 allo schools in the state, 1 of which is brand new and only plans on admitting <100 people next year. If I retook the MCAT I'd be really hesitant to take it in a month or so, putting myself at risk of rushing studying for a higher score and then I'd be stuck in the situation of having 2 mediocre MCAT scores and a very short time to apply.

Members don't see this ad.

Whoops. Didn't include the breakdown. Pretty even.

11 VR - 10 BS - 9 PS

I'm not sure what you mean by "applying late," after all, the application cycle really just started.

If you get your application in before July, I think that you have a chance at getting into some allo (and definitely DO) schools. You have a good MCAT and a lot of research and clinical experience; you obviously know what the hospital environment is like. I don't recommend trying to take the MCAT again in the next month if you aren't 100% ready; it would be better to apply next year if you are really worried. Go with your gut, and if you do choose to apply and have the money, apply very broadly (30+ schools for sure). My 2 cents.

Argephontes

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm not sure what you mean by "applying late," after all, the application cycle really just started.