Applying next round

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doc1988

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I applied to both DO and MD schools but I had a late app and I still have not been offered a position. I am considering reapplying next round. I have a 23 MCAT, job shadowed 4 years, have three publications in cardiac research, volunteer work for 2 years, 3.5 cGPA, 3.0 sGPA, etc etc. I am also doing a EMT program this summer.

I am basically wondering:

(A) what schools would be best for me to apply to (I am a MI resident)
(B) what I could do to beef up my app
(C) what I should do with my extra year
(D) what I should do to change my personal statement (iow: what constitutes a good one)

lol :confused: I think that is all. Thanks for the help.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I applied to both DO and MD schools but I had a late app and I still have not been offered a position. I am considering reapplying next round. I have a 23 MCAT, job shadowed 4 years, have three publications in cardiac research, volunteer work for 2 years, 3.5 cGPA, 3.0 sGPA, etc etc. I am also doing a EMT program this summer.

(D) what I should do to change my personal statement (iow: what constitutes a good one)

You should really take the MCAT again. You have everything except a good MCAT. That will make a huge difference. You should try to increase your score by AT LEAST 3 points but aim for a 28. It looks like the only red flag in your app so that is what i would spend my time on. Also if i were you I would just apply to DO schools (maybe 8-10) and only MI MD schoools.
Good Luck

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,

A. State school (MD or DO) then....private schools that don't care about your residency.
B. Must retake MCAT. 23 is too low for MD or DO. Bring it up about 3~4 points. Your sGPA seems too low for MD schools also but it should be okay for DO schools if you bring your MCAT up.