Applying to only 5 schools/Post 9-11 G.I. Bill

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pilotdentist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Bottom Line: I am a military veteran eligible for 100% Post-9-11 G.I. Bill benefits. This would cover full tuition for 36 months at all 3 Texas schools (my state of residence), U of Michigan, and U of Pittsburgh. It would cover 20K per year for other schools but that would still leave 50-75K remaining in debt per year. My dilemma is whether to apply to schools outside the 5 that would leave my family close to debt free, and whether it is likely I will get an interview at one of the 5 schools mentioned above.

My Stats:
DAT 22AA(26Bio 18RC 22GC 23OC 20QR) 23TS 24PAT
I have a 4.0 Master of Science in Environmental Sciences from an accredited online school
I graduated from a service academy with a degree in Biology just under a decade ago. Since then, I have been a military instructor pilot flying multi-engine jet aircraft with students. I have ample leadership and accomplishments that will definitely make me stand-out from the normal applicant. My biggest negative is an undergrad GPA of only 3.16. Service academies do not grade inflate. Also, I was an intercollegiate boxer at the time. My undergrad classes only had an "intro Organic Chem" class. I recently completed Orgo I/II/Bio Chem with all A's.

My questions:
Is a very high DAT score plus a unique/professional background enough to likely get an interview if only 5 schools are applied to? My gut instinct is yes. I know Texas is very favorable to military and Michigan/Pittsburgh must be since they do tuition matching to make the G.I. Bill cover all costs. If I get an interview, I am confident I can get in.