Are these schools within reach?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FrenchyM.D/D.O

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!! So I graduated with a BA from Umass with a 3.38 GPA and a 3.31 sGPA. MCAT: 28
bilingual (French)
URM and a MA resident
English 1: A
English 2: A-
Bio 1/lab : B+/B+
Bio 2/lab: A-/B+
Microbiology: B+
A&P: B+
Chem 1/lab: A/B+
Chem 2/lab: C+/A
Orgo 1/lab: C/B+
Orgo 2/ lab: A-/A-
Physics 1/lab: B+/C-
Physics 2/lab: B-/C
Pre-calc: A
Calc 1: A
Stats: A
Will those C's keep me out of medical school?
I have volunteered at a Nursing home,worked as a surgical tech, and worked other non healthcare related jobs throughout my entire academic carreer.
I have shadowed M.D's and D.O's
My letters of rec are very strong

The schools I am appying to:
Umass med
Really want Drexel. (My wife's family lives there)
Morehouse
Meharry
Howard
BU
NYMC
Albany
Loma Linda

Chance me please. Where else should I apply? Please specify if they would be reaches.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi. I may not be the best person to answer this question, but since no one else responded I'll give you my opinion based on my successful application cycle.

I am assuming that your are applying next cycle, since it is now very late in the current application cycle.

I think you have a very good chance at DO schools. You have a good MCAT score and your gpas don't seem to be too low for DO schools. As for MD schools, your gpas and MCAT score are on the lower side. But, I would try some more state MD schools. The MD schools you list above also seem like schools that will consider you.

The problem with state MD schools is that they prefer in-state applicants. It would be harder as an out-of-state student to get accepted. But, you're right in applying to UMASS (your state MD school). I would look at other state schools. As an out-of-state applicant, it would be harder to get in but not impossible.