Are you happy at ICO/PCO/NECO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wd114

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to know if current students are genuinely happy. Everyone I meet at these schools seem to go on and on about how everyone is super nice and willing to help each other, how there is a great student community, etc. How much of this do you find to be true? Do you feel that you've made life-long friends here? Also, how approachable is the faculty...really? I want complete honestly, without the up-sell that is expected when one goes on school tours.

Members don't see this ad.

Disclaimer: I am an ICO student, and so really only speak from my ICO experience.

>>I want to know if current students are genuinely happy.

Perhaps I'm being a little facetious and philosophical, but genuinely happy people don't get their happiness from optometry school. If you haven't found genuine happiness outside of your career, then I don't think you'll ever find it in any career. If you can find happiness outside of your circumstances, the. You will be truly happy. :)

>>Everyone I meet at these schools seem to go on and on about how everyone is super nice and willing to help each other, how there is a great student community, etc. How much of this do you find to be true?

Think of the personality qualities that make a great doctor. Friendliness, approachability, genuine care. Then throw all those sorts of people in a school for four years. Future optometrists are friendly to a fault and so your statement is absolutely true. Schools self-select this population, and it's immediately evident when you get here. I've been really pushing my fellow students at ICO to be considerate and helpful to one another, and it's a challenge I really put out to everyone. Community starts with a bunch of individuals, and if you are nice and willing to help your fellow student, you'll see the same in kind done for you.