ashamed...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiring20

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just graduated from college this spring, but I won't be applying until June, 2014. I need all this time to raise my GPA, take the MCAT, and improve every aspect of my application.

And even if I get in first time, I would start MS1 while my college classmates are starting MS4. I feel so ashamed everytime I think about this. I know that a lot of people take gap years and what not, but I just can't get over the fact that so many of my peers were able to apply at the end of junior year and be able to start med school right after undergrad. I was an art major during undergrad because that was my passion and I am very good at it. I spent a lot of time in the major, and wasn't able to dedicate enough resources getting my application ready by June of my junior year. If I can do it again, I would have picked a bio major and just be like everyone else.

If i matriculate to medical schools in 2015, I would be 25 (26 in September of 2015). I was at a medical school's website today and saw that the overwhelming majority of its incoming class were 22-23 year old. It was painful.

I've heard that med schools separate applications into two pools: the traditional applicants that applied at the end of junior year and the non-traditional applicants - everyone who had to take time off. I know that many people have discussed the benefits and drawbacks of being a non-trad...but I can't get rid of the shame and regret that's in me.

But this is what I want above all else...and late is better than never.

Right now, my greatest fear is that I don't get in during the 2014-2015 cycle and will have to reply. This means I'll have to take the NEW MCAT offered in 2015. I don't want to imagine such a scenario.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)