Ask me anything: SDN oldbie and dental grad edition

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lemoncurry

tequila mockingbird
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
By request, I have started this thread for anyone to ask questions.

I graduated in 2012 from Loma Linda as a non-SDA student. I immediately moved to Vermont and have been here ever since.

My first job is also my current job, at an FQHC (Federally Qualified Health Center), which are commonly referred to as community clinics.

I also took a 2 year hiatus working for a very popular corporate dental chain before returning to the FQHC.

I was 30 when I started dental school and was married with 3 kids already.

ask away!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 5 users
Thank you for creating this AMA, sir!

A few questions I have:

With Respect to FQHCs
1) What do you like about working at a FQHC?
2) What do you dislike about working at a FQHC?
3) What is your scope of practice (and how many of each procedure do you do daily, on average)?
4) How many patients do you see each day/how many ops do you work out of at the same time?
5) How did you find your position?
6) FQHCs tend to advertise loan repayment as a major benefit- Is loan repayment drying up, in your opinion?
7) What compensation range can a PGY-1 trained dentist expect in his first year at an FQHC? How about 5-10 years in?
8) Do you have any interest in going into private practice, or do you plan to stick with FQHCs?

With Respect to Corporate
1) What did you like about corporate? What did you dislike?
2) Would you recommend corporate for building up speed?

Reactions: 2 users
dang, that's a lot of questions. I won't be able to answer them all at once but I will do my best... starting tomorrow :)

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
dang, that's a lot of questions. I won't be able to answer them all at once but I will do my best... starting tomorrow :)