Avoiding the 2015 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HSShouldEnd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third-year undergraduate student at a public university. I have finished my pre-reqs (except biochemistry), and I plan to apply to medical school in the future. Due to personal circumstances, I will not apply while in school or shortly after graduation. I will have to go the untraditional route.

I spoke with my pre-med advisor, and she recommended I study for the MCAT this summer even though I will apply later on. According to her, my scores will be honored for up to 3 years. Additionally, studying for the exam while in school will be easier since the material will be fresher and I won't "forget how to study".

Therefore, I will use this summer to study for the exam. I need help deciding on an exam date. Since there is a chance I will need to retake the exam, I do not want to take the exam for the first time on the last day the current MCAT is administered.

According to AAMC, the new MCAT will be first administered in Spring 2015, so I am assuming that the current MCAT will end around February 2015.

Can anyone recommend a date I should take the exam for the first time keeping in mind that I may need to take the exam a second (and possibly a third) time?

FYI, although I have finished my coursework, I took some classes during my freshmen year, meaning I will need time to relearn or review the material extensively.

Thank you.

Here is the MCAT schedule.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Yeah start studying as soon as this semester is over. Since you have classes in the fall, I would plan on taking the MCAT about one week before your classes start. That's why I'm gonna do and I think it's a good idea to avoid the 2015 MCAT since it'll be significantly harder.

Members don't see this ad :)