Bad grades M1 year...can I still match?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

guitarplayer85

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I met with the Chief of Surgery at my school and he expressed a lot of concern about my match potential. I'd really love to become a urologist, but do you think I'm out of the running, or is it still worth trying to match?

M1 year: 4 C's, 2 B's

M2 year: 4 B's, 2 A's

M3 year: 2 Honors (including surgery), 2 High Pass, 2 Pass

Step 1: 235

CV: 2 clinical research projects in surgery/urology, many volunteer hours, a few leadership positions, lots of research in college

Assuming a 240+ on step 2 (I'm studying my tail off), is there any chance of me matching?

I'd love to hear your opinions. Thanks, all.

-Greg

Members don't see this ad.

Know what, let me throw my stats down too...

MS1: 8B's 2A's
MS2: 1C 5B's 4A's
MS3: Honors in Peds, Emergency, IM, Surgery, OBGYN, and Family Med, including very strong (obviously, given all honors) STEP scores.

Research: 1 Medical Education Research that has won 2 "best poster" awards from the NY medical society and the AAMC. Currently attempting to get it published. Multiple national-level leadership positions within the AMA.

USMLE: 234 (I felt like I could have done better. I was testing in the low-mid 240s under test conditions)
COMLEX (for those who care): 585

And I already have a very strong LoR from a urologist that used to train at a major local program and has trained the program directors at two different sites I'll be rotating at (but now he just hangs out in long island cystoscoping people, and he apparently thinks highly of me)