Bad PreMed Advisor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YLFounder

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So our school has two premed advisors: one for freshman and sophomores, and one for juniors and seniors. I'm a sophomore, but I met with the junior/senior premed advisor today and I did not like her at all. She was going against the scheduling my academic advisor had laid out, she rushed through the appointment, and didn't even give me enough time to ask all the questions I had.

I know she and I didn't get off on the wrong start; she seemed to like me, but how do I prevent stuff like this from happening again? I want to be able to sit with her and voice all my questions, and since she writes a committee letter, I don't want to get on her bad side by complaining about her to school officials. Also, by going against what she said for my schedule, will that make her not like me?

I can't afford to go with the plan she laid out right now, because it doesn't collaborate with my personal issues either, something which my academic advisor and I discussed beforehand.

Members don't see this ad.

So our school has two premed advisors: one for freshman and sophomores, and one for juniors and seniors. I'm a sophomore, but I met with the junior/senior premed advisor today and I did not like her at all. She was going against the scheduling my academic advisor had laid out, she rushed through the appointment, and didn't even give me enough time to ask all the questions I had.

I know she and I didn't get off on the wrong start; she seemed to like me, but how do I prevent stuff like this from happening again? I want to be able to sit with her and voice all my questions, and since she writes a committee letter, I don't want to get on her bad side by complaining about her to school officials. Also, by going against what she said for my schedule, will that make her not like me?