Bad situation, Do not want to give up on medschool. Help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocRDLT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
To make the story short, I graduated from Ga State 2014, with a 2.8 GPA and with very little outside experience or with the ability to get enough letters of recommendation (3 Tops). I have a bunch of reasons as to why this happened to me but at the moment they dont particularly matter.

I decided that if I was not going to get into medschool right away, I could at least apply to nursing school and get a "fresh Start" and then reapply after working for a while. In my opinion this was a good idea, however, I didnt realize that nursing schools are also hard to get into and I did not get accepted. (I got into chamberlain but their tuition is beyond my reach without any loans). I do not want to be a nurse, so taking a loan to cover this tuition seems like a waste as I do not plan to make it my career. While this was happening (1 year and about 6 classes or so that I retook) I got my GPA to 3.1.
This new GPA still isn't competitive enough. Especially when you compare it to a 4.0. I can't spend countless years and money just retaking classes anymore.
I know that realistically speaking, I do not have a lot of chances to get into medical school, but there must be a way to get in? I'm ok with doing the work, but I just need a path to follow.
I resumed my MCAT studies but I am going to need more than a good MCAT score to get in, I just don't know what to do at this point and need some advice.
I know there are a lot of students in my situation and they won't get in. However, Im not giving up, but I need a hand here. Surely there must be a way?

Members don't see this ad.