Becoming a doctor and emigrating?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SomeGirl

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an American undergrad right now. I'm hoping to get an MD afterwards, and I really want to eventually move to Australia, New Zealand, or (preferably northern) Canada (but not Quebec, as I don't speak French), especially in a rural area. I'm trying to figure out the fastest way to become a doctor and immigrate to one of those countries.

I've looked at Canadian med schools and unfortunately it's a closed door for international applicants. As for residency, you have to be a citizen or PR to register with CaRMS. Are there other ways to do a residency there?

I'm not sure about Australian or New Zealand med schools, and the path to becoming a doctor there confuses me in general.

Worst case scenario, I'll have to go to med school in the US AND do my residency here as well. After that, could I practice in Australia, New Zealand, or Canada? Or would I have to redo my training?

I'm really confused about this whole thing. Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an American undergrad right now. I'm hoping to get an MD afterwards, and I really want to eventually move to Australia, New Zealand, or (preferably northern) Canada (but not Quebec, as I don't speak French), especially in a rural area. I'm trying to figure out the fastest way to become a doctor and immigrate to one of those countries.

I've looked at Canadian med schools and unfortunately it's a closed door for international applicants. As for residency, you have to be a citizen or PR to register with CaRMS. Are there other ways to do a residency there?

I'm not sure about Australian or New Zealand med schools, and the path to becoming a doctor there confuses me in general.