Becoming More Competitive Within the Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bopcheese

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I wanted to post a little bit about myself and see if I am on the right track to getting those acceptances to dental schools next year (Fall 2017) and was hoping if the sdn community could give me some genuine advice on what to improve on and how to increase my chances of getting accepted in my first cycle of attempts! P.S my top schools are Temple, Pitt, and Maryland!

I'm currently a sophomore at Penn State with:
Overall GPA: 3.53 (current)
Science GPA: 3.39 (current)

Unfortunately, I underestimated the rigorous classes I'm currently taking and I think my GPAs might take a small hit after this semester. In the worst case scenario, they'll drop to 3.5 and 3.35, respectively

I'm going to be diligently studying the DAT next spring while taking a light course load too in hopes that I'll retain the information better and kill the DATs.

Some ECs I have include:
  • Working at a commons desk on university campus
  • Lab teaching assistant position for an anatomy course
  • Sculpture club
  • Pre-Dental Society (and hopefully soon-to-be exec member)
  • Global Medical/Dental Brigade member
  • SMDEP at Case Western this summer :D
  • Pre-med/Science major YouTube video for university convocation
  • ~ 30 hours of volunteering for various committees and events including blood drive, etc.
As far as shadowing goes:
  • ~ 60 hours with my family dentist
  • ~ 25 hours with an orthodontist
  • ~ 5 hours with an endodontist
Any advice at all would be appreciated! So far, my advisors have told me to try to do some research, but I'm more worried that my science GPA isn't competitive... What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Get at least 100 shadowing hrs and a 20 DAT. Be confident at interviews. Your GPA is fine with a high DAT.