Being a past community college student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ThatGuy15

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I am new here and I apologize in advance if my question has already been asked.

I want to pursue a career as a clinical neuropsychologist. I know all the steps that I have to take in order to pursue that career path. Last year I graduated from my community college and I am now a senior at New York University. I am not applying to Ph.D programs yet. I would like to first pursue my M.A. in experimental psychology from Brooklyn College before applying to Ph.D programs. I graduated community college with a 3.9 GPA and had received all sorts of honors and achievements. I was also a recipient of a grant from the NSF to pursue research in neuroscience at CUNY Brooklyn & Queens College. My current GPA at NYU is not so great. I ended my first semester at NYU with a 3.0 GPA. I was very upset but that only motivated me to try harder. I finished this semester with a 3.6, which brought my GPA to a 3.3. The reason I am informing you of this is because I am worried about what the admissions officers are going to think when they evaluate my application and see that I attended a community college. I am not sure if they will see me in a positive way or just completely not take me seriously. So my question is: How does being a past community college student affect my chances of being admitted to doctoral clinical psychology programs? Thank you for your time.

Members don't see this ad.

Short answer: it won't affect your chances. Longer answer: is there an off chance that some professor, somewhere will review your app and be slightly negatively biased by your having attended a CC? I suppose it's possible, but I would say it's unlikely.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)