Benefits of DO/MPH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

panda monium

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to be attending a school that is pushing the ole MPH dual degree. (you do it during the summers so it won't take away from regs class time). I find it vaguely interesting, but am pretty meh overall.
I guess I want to consider it, but what's the advantage? is it a CV booster for residency?

does anyone have one that is out on the interview trail now? have people cared?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm going to be attending a school that is pushing the ole MPH dual degree. (you do it during the summers so it won't take away from regs class time). I find it vaguely interesting, but am pretty meh overall.
I guess I want to consider it, but what's the advantage? is it a CV booster for residency?

haha I think anyone who has interviewed at that school knows which one it is.

I am a med student with an MPH not on the interview trail yet but I've noticed that physicians who work in public health often have an MPH. It might have been earned after they graduated from medical school, though.

It definitely wouldnt hurt you, but I doubt that any residency directors care about the MPH degree. I would avoid it unless you are interested in public health as a career. Otherwise its a waste of time, stress and money.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Unnecessary appendage unless you think you might have occasion to use it (e.g. if things don't work out).

It was a talking point on residency interviews, but by no means could be used to offset any medschool deficiencies.